Health and Safety
Here are some reminders that will help make the school year healthy for all of our students:
Families, students, and staff need to follow current Covid-19 procedure.
Students must be fever-free for a 24-hour period, without fever-reducing medications, before returning to school.
Students must be free of abdominal distress for a 24-hour period, without medications, before returning to school.
Student diagnosed with lice may return to school after medical treatment (medicated shampoo) and nit removal. He/she must report to the front office for an examination before returning to the classroom.
Students will be sent home if they have a fever, major injury, or abdominal distress. If a student becomes ill during the school day and needs to go home, one of the following must occur before the student may leave:
A parent, or someone designated by the parent, may pick the student up at school. The parent or designee needs to sign the student out at the front desk.
Front office personnel receive verbal permission from a parent allowing the student to go home. The student must sign out at the front desk.
If the student cannot contact a parent for permission to go home, the front office can excuse the student from class and continue to try and contact the parent. The student must sign out at the front desk.
The California School Immunization Law requires that children be up to date on their immunizations (shots) to attend school. Diseases like measles spread quickly, so children need to be protected before they enter. California schools are required to check immunization records for all new student admissions at Kindergarten or Transitional Kindergarten through 12th grade and all students advancing to 7th grade before entry.
To attend school, your child’s Immunization Record must show the date for each required shot above. If you do not have an Immunization Record, or your child has not received all required shots, call your doctor now for an appointment. If a licensed physician determines a vaccine should not be given to your child because of medical reasons, submit a written statement from the physician for a medical exemption for the missing shot(s), including the duration of the medical exemption. A personal beliefs exemption is no longer an option for entry into school; however, a valid personal beliefs exemption filed with a school before January 1, 2016 is valid until entry into the next grade span (7th through 12th grade). Valid personal beliefs exemptions may be transferred between schools in California. You must also submit an immunization record for all required shots not exempted.
All prescription medications brought to school are to be registered at the office and kept by the teacher in the student’s classroom for safekeeping. They must be in the original container with the student’s name, name of medicine, dosage, and time for each dose. A completed Medication Administration Form is to accompany all prescribed medications and over-the-counter medications. A physician’s signature is also required.